Contoh Letter of Motivation dalam Bahasa Inggris

Salah satu persyaratan teknis bagi calon mahasiswa/i yang berkeinginan untuk melanjutkan studi di luar negeri dengan melalui jalur beasiswa LPDP adalah menyertakan Letter of Motivation dalam bahasa Inggris.

Banyak contoh-contoh yang dapat ditemukan di internet. Pada prinsipnya sebuah letter of motivation harus lah mampu menceritakan alasan dan motivasi dari calon mahasiswa/i kenapa dia layak dipertimbangkan mendapatkan beasiswa dan berkuliah di universitas luar negeri yang dia inginkan.

Hal-hal seperti pengalaman belajar, pengalaman kerja serta harapan-harapan setelah dia menuntaskan studi-nya di luar negeri haruslah dapat tertuang dalam satu surat yang tidak boleh melebihi 3 (tiga) halaman itu. Sehingga, surat tersebut harus tetap ringkas namun padat.

Berikut di bawah ini adalah satu contoh letter of motivation dalam bahasa Inggris bagi calon mahasiswa/i yang berkeinginan melanjutkan studinya di luar negeri khususnya bidang pariwisata (PhD in Tourism).

Dear Madam, Sir,

I am Agung Yoga Asmoro, a 38 years of age, currently a tourism study lecturer in Akademi Pariwisata Nasional (National Tourism Academy), Banjarmasin – Indonesia. Besides lecturer, I am also an entrepreneur in the field of tourism, specifically as an Ecotourism based Inbound Tour Operator (Lintang Buana Tourism Services) that handled international visitors to Indonesia. More over, I am also being involved as a tourism consultant on several tourism related projects both by central and local government.

I appreciate this opportunity to introduce myself at your University and to apply for the PhD programme in Tourism at the University of Surrey. With my educational background and working experience in the field of tourism, I strongly believe that I am suitable candidate for the programme.

Since elementary school I already have a great desire in the world of tourism. This is because I see so much natural and cultural attractions of Indonesia but not yet widely known by the world. I just feel that I have responsibilities to share it to the world. That’s also the reason why soon after high school I’ve studied at Sekolah Tinggi Pariwisata Bandung (Bandung Tourism Institute) which is the oldest and best school of tourism in Indonesia and earn a Bachelor in Tourism Management there on 2002.

After graduating from undergraduate, I was stepped a career in the field of tourism. Do not realize that it is already 12 years passed and the need to increase knowledge in the field of tourism made me re-study on the same campus. This time I finish my study and earn my Master of Tourism degree on the early year of 2015.

Soon after graduated from my master’s degree, I became a lecturer while also maintaining my business at the same time. These combination of textbook knowledge and real practice experience helped me a lot in my lecture. I could give my students a lot of real cases, while still using academic approach in lecturing.

On several cases, I also being involved as a tourism consultant or at least supported on several local/central government tourism related projects. The projects such as:

  • Lampung Province Tourism Promotion Strategy 2016 – 2020, a project of Lampung Tourism Promotion Board, 2016
  • Study of Marketing Strategy – Special Interest Market 2015, a project of Ministry of Tourism, Republik Indonesia (joint research)
  • Design of Special Interest and MICE Market 2015, a project of Ministry of Tourism, Republik Indonesia (joint research)
  • Inclusive Tourism Development in Raja Ampat – West Papua 2015, a project of Ministry of Tourism, Republik Indonesia (joint research)
  • Jambi Province Master Plan of Tourism Development 2015, a project of Jambi Province Government Tourism Office (joint research)

From the description and scope of my work, I would suggest that my knowledge is still not enough. Especially the knowledge related to research in the field of tourism. I love working in tourism industry, I want to help and support developing my country according to my field of study, and I want to contribute myself in the tourism world and share the world my knowledge about tourism. Therefore, I would like to apply for a PhD at the University of Surrey, and in the same time for scholarship from my government. I personally believe that every person applying for PhD in Tourism should be as much as specialized in research and practice in that field, as me.

After I read carefully the description of the PhD programme and the course requirements, I believe that it perfectly matches my research interests and profile. Afterwards I have continued my research at the University website, where I gained useful information about the University campus and the student life in Surrey. I believe that I will be positive addition to your team, fit well in your organization and be a useful member of the community, as I love to be active in the field of social causes and campaigns.

As I understand, this programme is very competitive, attracting highly motivated students, but I am convinced that my good record at the University and during my work as both tourism study lecturer and tourism entrepreneur give me a strong recommendation for a place at it. I would be honored if you decide to accept my candidateship to be PhD student at the University of Surrey 2017/2018.

Thank you very much for your time and consideration.

Sincerely yours,

Agung Yoga Asmoro (Mr)

Leave a Reply

